Skip to main content

$250 available to eligible households to assist with paying their energy bills

By January 20, 2021February 15th, 2021No Comments

As part of the Victorian Government’s Energy Assistance Program, from 1 February 2021 a one-off $250 Power Saving Bonus is available to eligible households to assist with paying their energy bills.

Who is eligible?

The one-off payment will provide direct support to vulnerable Victorian households experiencing energy bill stress due to the COVID-19 pandemic and will be available to over 900,000 eligible Victorian households. It is directed at Pensioner Concession Card holders and some Health Care Card holders (including JobSeeker, Youth Allowance, Austudy and Abstudy recipients).

Applicants must show they are a Victorian residential energy consumer by providing a copy of their household electricity bill and an active eligible Centrelink payment by providing their Centrelink Customer Reference Number (CRN). The applicant’s residential address associated with the CRN must match the service address listed on the electricity bill.

Payments are limited to one per eligible household.

Department of Veterans Affairs Pensioner Concession Card (DVA Pensioner Concession Card holders) will be able to apply online from 1 March 2021 or may access the bonus through a manual application from 1 February 2021 – email for information.

How to apply

The Energy Assistance Program is being delivered by the Brotherhood of St Laurence, Australian Energy Foundation and Uniting.

To apply for the $250 Power Saving Bonus, you must apply here or through a participating community organisation and you can call 1800 830 029 for assistance.

If you don’t have access to a computer, tablet or smart phone, or a connection to the internet at home, there are other options available to you.

For languages other than English you can call 1800 000 VEC (832) to receive general support or be connected with an approved community organisation who can assist you with your application.

Applications close 31 January 2022